A Hajj Journal

Interior_wall_Azhar

Figure 1A: Hajj is the 5th of the five pillars or columns in the foundation of Islam, meant to be completed by the able believer with provisions once in his lifetime.

As-Salaamu Alaikum wa Rahmatullah,

Dear believers,

I write this praising Allah and sending peace and blessings on his Prophet Muhammad, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him, his family, his companions and Ummah as a whole. I had returned from Hajj just some six days ago, reflective and grateful that Allah has given me the opportunity and in His Mercy called me to His Sacred Lands. I thought that giving the aftermath of the trip would make myself and other believers understand the journey of Hajj and all the surprises that come with it. After some consideration and thought, I decided to do this and be as descriptive as I could. Hajj also was a great assistance as events occurring are quite memorable and not easily forgotten.

Day after day I made notes while on hajj and tried to write as much as possible in the moment so that occurrences would be fresh in the mind and the emotions raw. At the end of the whole trip, I gave a verdict on my life, what had happened, what I saw and then moving forward how I was changed and would try to maintain that momentum. I sincerely hope that the slaves of Allah benefit as much from this effort as I feel I have and that it puts every reader in a reflective mode.

And with Allah is every success,

brother in Islam,

al-Hajj Abu Ja`far al-Hanbali

One response to “A Hajj Journal

  1. Alhamdulillah, Alhamdulillah. May Allah reward you with a Hajj Mabrur inshaAllah. How does it feel to be born again? This must be the third “birth” you’ve had, mashaAllah…

    I look forward to reading the gems you discovered during your Hajj inshaAllah.

Leave a Reply

