Supplication and Wiping Face Afterward

Figure 1A: There is often dispute about wiping the face after supplication; but there need not be...

Figure 1A: There is often dispute about wiping the face after supplication; but there need not be…

Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh Sheikh!
wa `Alaikum us-Salaamu wa Rahmatullah,
Noble slave of Allah,
How are you? It’s been a long time, I know. I’ve just been getting on with things, still reading and attending talks/classes alhamdulillah.
This is fine as long as it is tempered with spending more time with Allah and upright people who will sincerely advise you.

I have three questions, the first of which has caused me great concern over the past week, which I would really appreciate you answering please:

No problem.

1. Since I learnt how to pray I came to make it a habit to make dua afterwards since I have read in several books that one of the times that duas are answered is after the obligatory prayers. So I’ve been doing this for pretty much the past 1 and 1/2 years I’ve been Muslim until last week as I was told not to do it anymore.

I am taking a class on Tawhid and we had just finished praying Dhuhr. I said the Tasbih and naturally raised my hands to make dua when maybe 20 seconds into it my hands are grabbed and I look up to see my teacher’s face. She said not to do this (the dua after prayer) as it’s a bid’ah. I was completely shocked! She also told me that the wiping of the face which so many people do after dua, which I also have been doing because I thought it was what I was meant to do, is also a bid’ah. She told me these were all “from the Sufis.”

Our Prophet, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him, lifted his hands whenever he made supplication. This is mentioned by Imam Ahmad in his Musnad, vol.4, pp. 56-59.
The Prophet, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him, lifted his hands in supplication after the prayers. Imam Ibn Abi Shaibah in Al-Musannaf, hadith #8443; Abu Ya`la Al-Mawsili in Al-Musnad, hadith #7440; Ibn Hajar Al-Haithami in Majma` az-Zawa’id, vol.10, pp. 166-168.
You keep right on raising your hands after the prayer. If this is that serious of an issue for them and you are around them on a regular basis, then don’t do so around them after the prayers but do not leave this well confirmed Sunnah.
If you were not meant to touch the face after the supplication, why did the Prophet, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him, do so as is narrated so many times. This was narrated by Companions such as Hammad ibn `Isa, `Umar ibn Al-Khattab, Ibn `Abbas and others.
For the evidence of the authenticity of this act, please see: Imam At-Tirmidhi in his Sunan, hadith #3386; Imam Yahya an-Nawawi in Sharh ul-Muhadhdhab, vol.3, pp. 460-463; Az-Zaila`ii in Nasab ur-Rayah, vol.3, pp. 50-52; `Abd ibn Hamid in Al-Musnad, hadith #39; Al-Bazzar in his Al-Musnad, hadith #129; At-Tabarani in Al-Mu`jam Al-Awsat, hadith #7053; Al-Hakim in Al-Mustadrak, hadith #1967;
Although one of the narrators has some weakness in him, he and all hadith narrated by him are declared authentic and this can be seen in Al-Ilal by Ibn Abi Hatim, vol.2, pp. 203-205; Ibn Al-Jawzi in his Al-`Ilal Al-Mutanahiyah, vol.2, pp. 838-840; Imam Adh-Dhahabi in Siyar A`lam un-Nubala’, vol.4, pp. 465-467 as well asTadhkirat ul-Huffaz, vol.3, pp. 885-886 and Ibn Hajar in Al-Bulugh ul-Maram, vol.4, pp. 217-219.
She’s left me feeling really paranoid. I no longer raise my hands after prayer but end every prayer with the tasbih and reciting Ayat al Kursi with the exceptions of Fajr and Maghrib when I say other adhkar such as the three Quls and others from “Fortress of the Muslim”. However, all this is still without my hands raised. I make a lot of dua in sujood anyway but I feel robbed because after every prayer I would begin dua by praising Allah and sending blessings on the Prophet (pbuh) but now I’m clearly sending a lot less. Interestingly, I have felt less close to Allah this past week but maybe it’s coincidence – although Muslims don’t believe in that, do they?
Return to making the supplication as you had been as this is most noble and mentioned by the great Prophet, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him.

Also, I no longer know how to end my duas because I’m frightened of wiping my face so I just drop my hands because I don’t know what to do.

Wiping the face is perfectly permissible as has been mentioned above. Now if someone did not sometimes, this is still sound and the supplication is valid, but neither thing should be condemned by any party.
It may be something minor to someone else but for me I worry that my duas are incomplete, like they haven’t reached Allah somehow even though I know He is All Hearing and All Knowing. I just want to know that I am following the correct etiquette. I mean, even in Sh. Yasir Qadhi’s book on dua he mentions that after salah is a good time to make dua but I now I’m being told this is wrong? Please help!!

2. I was also told by the same teacher that Ar-Rashid is not one of Allah’s Names as she said there is no evidence for it.

Then why is this in the hadith of Imam At-Tirmidhi in his Sunan and classed as authentic by all the early generations? Whoever should say this does not know his or her Lord. Be careful and beware when people teach false doctrine about our Lord.
Yet I recently took an online class and he  sent us Allah’s Names as a learning resource and Ar-Rashid is in there so that’s why I have been using it in my duas along with others. Can I use this name or not? I’m getting really frustrated with one person saying one thing and someone else saying another.
Then stay well established upon what you had been doing beforehand and do not allow yourself to be sidetracked.

3. I’ve had what is known as mid-cycle bleeding. I have been to the doctor and was told that this is probably a sign of ovulation so alhamdulillah, at least it shows fertility. I am going back to the doctor, insha Allah, to follow this up to be sure; for the past week I’ve had this light bleeding or “spotting” which I know isn’t my period so I have continued to pray.

Yes, you have been correct to keep praying. The Prophet, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him, said to a woman who had the same problem who had the name, Fatimah bint Qais, “Wash the area and pray.” This is collected by Imam Al-Bukhari in his collection. 
was-Salaam,
Al-Hajj Abu Ja`far Al-Hanbali
One response to “Supplication and Wiping Face Afterward

Leave a Reply

