The Trial of Takfir Reloaded

Figure 1A: The Deobandi-Barelwi conflict has ruined every community in which it has appeared.

Figure 1A: The Deobandi-Barelwi conflict has ruined every community in which it has appeared.

Below is a useful and edifying message from a Muslim brother on a re-occurring problem among some of the ranks of the Muslims. My response immediately follows:

 

Assalamu Alaykum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatu respected brother

Alhumduillah I have benefitted from many of your talks via youtube & I pray that my Allahu Ta’ala accept your works & efforts.

By the Grace of Allahu Ta’ala I also hav a youtube channel (AfwaunMumeen) where I was able to also take some of your talks & re-upload it for the benefit of the Ummat.

Respected brother, my reason for contacting you is to insha’Allah enlighten you with regards to certain aspects of the Ummat you may not be aware of.

I came across a talk where you likened the Deobandi Jamaat to the Wahaabis while the Barelvi Jamaat were likened to the Ahlus Sunnah Wal Jamaah based on some misinformation that was forwarded to the honorable Ulama of the Hijaaz.

This isn’t your fault but if it’ll please my Allahu Ta’ala, I’d like to forward you something concerning the honorable Ulama of the Hijaaz retracting their statements of kufr & deviation placed on the Ulama-e-Deoband.

Insha’Allahu Ta’ala you find it of great benefit & may my Allah Ta’ala bestow upon you the ability to remember me in your Duaas

Wasallam

 

Response of Br. Abu Ja`far Al-Hanbali:

Assalamu Alaykum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatu respected brother

wa `Alaikum us-Salaamu wa Rahmatullah, 

 Noble brother, 

Alhumduillah I have benefitted from many of your talks via youtube & I pray that my Allahu Ta’ala accept your works & efforts.

I understand. 

By the Grace of Allahu Ta’ala I also hav a youtube channel (AfwaunMumeen) where I was able to also take some of your talks & re-upload it for the benefit of the Ummat.

As long as they are left in their original full format, I have no issue with this but if they are cut and sectioned in a way in which they convey misinformation, then this is wrong. 

Respected brother, my reason for contacting you is to insha’Allah enlighten you with regards to certain aspects of the Ummat you may not be aware of. I came across a talk where you likened the Deobandi Jamaat to the Wahaabis,

while the Barelvi Jamaat were likened to the Ahlus Sunnah Wal Jamaah based on some misinformation that was forwarded to the honorable Ulama of the Hijaaz.

No, I did not. Rather, what I said in the 13 centuries lecture is that some Deobandis do have 5 or 6 of the sixteen masa’il of Salafiyyah, and this is error. Not all of them have these errors.

I further said that the book Taqwiyat ul-Iman is a re-load or poor copy of Kitab ut-Tawheed by Muhammad ibn `Abdul Wahhab.

It has the exact same errors in it and the same false conclusions, such as “shirk in one’s daily chores,” that the Quraish and previous nations believed that Allah was the only creator (when at the same time they denied the Resurrection,

which is part of believing that He is the only Lord, thus constituting a major theological error in Salafiyyah and Deobandis that hold that position).

In addition to this, the article, Takfir: A Problem for Some Sunnis Too, I pointed out that Imam Ahmad Rida Khan is from Muslim Orthodoxy (Ar. Ahl us-Sunnah Wal-Jama`ah).

The reason for this is two of the great Hanbali mujaddids of the time praised his works and said noble things of him regarding his texts. 

As for the Muhannad, I have a copy of this that was actually signed and given to me by Mufti Muhammad ibn Adam Al-Kawthari. I have made reference to it a number of times in other lectures;

but this does not address the particular issues in question to which I was making reference, namely the 5 or 6 masa’il of Salafiyyah. None of those questions were answered in that text. 

This isn’t your fault but if it’ll please my Allahu Ta’ala, I’d like to forward you something concerning the honorable Ulama of the Hijaaz retracting their statements of kufr & deviation placed on the Ulama-e-Deoband.

As for the fatwa from the scholars of the Hijaz, I have the original Arabic and no text of kufr from the scholars of my madhhab and to the best of my knowledge any other was every placed upon Deoband as a group or specific individuals. No one in the text was referred to as an unbeliever.

I know this as I have the original rulings of Imams Muhammad ibn Humaid An-Najdi (d. 1295 AH), who was also a teacher of Ahmad Rida’ Khan. No statement that they were unbelievers was every made by him or the grand judge Imam Hasan Ash-Shatti (d.1275 AH) or the son of Imam Ibn Humaid. 

What you will need to do is look at those rulings again and you will see that the rulings were given in a general sense: “Whoever believes this, then that is kufr.”

Another example: “Whoever says this, then he is a kafir.” This does not mean a said individual is a kafir. They do not know that individual.

So they cannot say a specific person is a kafir, “Due to my previous fatwa, YOU are a kafir,” as they do not know the condition of people living miles away from them that they cannot assess for the impediments, conditions and other matters related to takfir.

So speaking in general terms is permitted and perfectly fine. Again, as for the Muhannad, this does not solve things for the Deoband people that have Salafi masa’il in their ranks. There is a statement from Imam Mustafa Ash-Shatti (d. 1348 AH), whose works I have already translated.

He gives a rather cautious statement on the text due to the fact that again, he does not know the Deoband or its’ people. Not only this, I would advise you to read the works of Imam Mustafa Ash-Shatti and see if you still think that this is someone you would like to go to as a source of the Deoband being upon right guidance. 

In his text, he discusses making intercession at the gravesites, when the deceased are absent and using them in one’s supplication as well as the position that the Prophet, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him, can be seen in a wakeful state in his natural form.

If all of deoband adheres to this, along with the Salafis in general being Kuffar and Muhammad ibn `Abdul Wahhab being upon the same level as Musailimah the Liar, then this is perfectly fine. 

Go right ahead. But if not or in consideration, I really suggest you read the works of Mustafa Ash-Shatti here: 

And those of Muhammad ibn Humaid An-Najdi (d. 1295 AH). Even read the works of the great Hanbali sages before Muhammad ibn `Abdul Wahhab’s appearance (and also during and after) and you will find them making intercession with the Prophet, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him, after every prayer in supplication.

I am not talking about making intercession with your IMAN in him, I mean making intercession with HIM, HIMSELF in every supplication after every compulsory prayer and addressing him as if he is present. Using him as part of the supplication. 

If the deoband is fine with this, then this should be no problem and should be made public so the people know the truth. If this is not the case, you have a lot of reading to do and some studying as well.

I am not interested in the Deobandi/Barelwi conflict as most of this has come in the aftermath of the death of Ahmad Rida’ Khan. Rather, I compared them both to Imam Ahmad Ibn Hanbal, his students and scholars after and the theology passed down by their luminaries. 

Measuring both Deoband and the Barelwi against the school of Imam Ahmad, both are defective and without complete merit and missing the complete truth. However, Barelwi his some aspects of that truth and Deoband has some aspects of truth. Abandoning both is the truth, the true path. Thank you for your time. 

was-Salaam, 

Al-Hajj Abu Ja`far Al-Hanbali

Insha’Allahu Ta’ala you find it of great benefit & may my Allah Ta’ala bestow upon you the ability to remember me in your Duaas

Wasallam

One response to “The Trial of Takfir Reloaded

Leave a Reply

