And Now Compton…

Figure 1A: Aja Brown, mayor of Compton with a brilliant mind for change. Perhaps this same attitude of speaking to the leadership of gangs will show others that the West Coast gangs have to spoken to in the same way as any paramilitary group.

Figure 1A: Aja Brown, mayor of Compton with a brilliant mind for change. Perhaps this same attitude of speaking to the leadership of gangs will show others that the West Coast gangs have to spoken to in the same way as any paramilitary group.

I first received this article from a Muslim brother but had to confirm with some of the Slaves of Allah I still know that are invested in the gang infested streets on the West Coast of the United States. After examination, it looks to be the case that some of the gangs are trying to come together and as a result the violence in one of the worst cities is declining rapidly.

Figure 2A: It is men such as these that truly run the streets of the West Coast, whether it be through drugs or the gang violence. Similarly, it is men such as these that can end it by coming together.

Figure 2A: It is men such as these that truly run the streets of the West Coast, whether it be through drugs or the gang violence. Similarly, it is men such as these that can end it by coming together.

My sincere hope is that this truce holds, much like that of the Hoovers, 18th Streets, Eight Tray Gangsters (ETGs) and Rollin’ 60s, that go through ebbs and flows. If some major outcome can come about that is longstanding, this will mean that in my lifetime people from the generation that I belong to may live long enough as a norm to go past their late twenties and into their thirties.

Not a day goes by that I don’t think about the fact that I have:

– no graduating class (they are all dead)

– no class reunion for my year (they are all dead, because they killed each other)

– no middle age prom functions (they are all dead, because they killed each other or they were killed by someone else)

I might not have even attended any of the functions; but that is not really the point. Rather the point is that I would like to have had the chance. This new change means that maybe the people coming after me will get that chance.

As long as Muslims are involved on the ground to the same calibre as those that I knew before in the late eighties to the early nineties, I am sure that we will get ahead. There are some great imams that have come out of those badlands that are an asset and can be of assistance.

They will do what most imams can’t and wont do: relate to their constituency. This is something that I have always sought to maintain. I don’t belong to the Indo-Pak constituency or any thing of the sort. I belong to the Arab and gang constituency. It is to those groups that I have my eyes firmly fixed. Although I may not always be with them in body, my heart is there and this is what is important.

You who believe. Save yourselves and your families from the Fire. Surat ut-Tahrim (66), ayah 6

This is all I have ever sought to do and what I will continue to do if able and Allah wills. Every nation (Ar. qawm) has its’ rights and that is the nation that has its’ rights and basis.

Until next time,

Al-Hajj Abu Ja`far Al-Hanbali

 

Leave a Reply

