1438 AH: A New Year

Figure 1A: Let this next 12 months be for continued improvement and perfection in the life of the human being.

Figure 1A: Let this next 12 months be for continued improvement and perfection in the life of the human being.

Only three days ago, it was 29 Dhul Hijjah 1437 AH and I was looking for the moon on a Saturday. I had just combined Maghrib and `Isha’ at home with the children on account of heavy rain and could not see the crescent moon.

Later, I would find that Morocco, the absolute monarchy and closest Muslim country to me, had not seen the crescent moon. Thus we were to count 30 days for Dhul Hijjah. I had seen numerous changes in this year of 1437 AH.

A Ramadan had come and gone. Allah had made it possible for me to lead Tarawih prayer reciting Qur’an from the narration of Qalun from Nafi`. Slaves of Allah were ten in number max and it took us  just about two hours to complete. To give people some mercy, we prayed ten raka`ah, had a ten minute break with a dars covering what we had recited and some water.

In the last ten nights, we prayed 12 raka`ah, then 8 after the break. What a great blessing we had. The whole month I only came outside once or twice to purchase food. The `Eid ul-Fitr prayer was in Arabic and not a mumbo-jumbo mix up and the same thing went for `Eid ul-Adha.

We were able to distribute more than £1500.00 in Zakat ul-Fitr in the form of food to five Muslim families and also the local shelter. Again, I don’t know how we did it, but we did it. Brothers in Soledad and San Quentin contacted me to say the first edition of the books that I had published were in the libraries and they were appreciative. I was not appreciative of my massive phone bill.

My home cities of Aswan and Asyut suffered a massive heatwave with a drought and then right after there was flooding. It is my hope that if I am able to go this year I can take inventory and help them.

Allah blessed my children to continue in their Qur’an. In another three years, with continued hard work and supplications, three of them should have completed the Qur’an. The rest of my family that had been in the United States successfully relocated to Central and South America and domains besides, which gives me a tremendous relief as now they have left the United States.

Classes galore came in this year and Allah blessed me to be part of them. I thought that this year’s classes, in spite of any personal turmoil I might have had, went well and were organised. Imam Abu Isma`il Al-Harawi’s text, Manazil us-Sa’irin, was completed in Ramadan and the tafsir class reached the completion of the 29th Juz.’

This means that the 30th and the final juz’ of the Qur’an may be completed in the first months of 1438 AH. The Book of Hajj by Imam `Abdul Ghani Al-Lubadi (d. 1319 AH) was completed and those I worked with were happy with the text and the words of the Imam.

This year was huge for me in significance, effort, friendship, sweetness of fasting in Ramadan and countless other affairs. In this year, it is my intention to fast 9th, 10th of Muharram to try to get reward and also complete the rest of my obligations so that perhaps in the next five years, I will be typing this from a server in my home country.

For the mean time, I will continue teaching the students that I have – while not taking any new ones – and focus on my two villages and try to help my people. I hope that the past 12 months have been of tremendous benefit to everyone and I hope that this next twelve months will be even better. Keep striving, keep working and always be dedicated to improvement and reaching your highest potential.

Until next time and congratulations for making it through another year,

Al-Hajj Abu Ja`far Al-Hanbali

One response to “1438 AH: A New Year

  1. Salamun ‘Alaykum

    It is a pity that we are losing you. I had hoped that we could smooth things out and that I could learn from you once again. I understand you have more pressing matters and may Allah bless you immensely in them, and help you help your people. I would be honoured even if you referred me to somebody so that I can learn and benefit from.

    wasallam.

Leave a Reply

